Skip to content
February 10, 2010 / Nandha kumar

INTERFACING 2-LINE LCD DISPLAY WITH ATMEGA8 ARDUINO

Hi to all.

This blog is useful in interfacing a 2-line LCD display JHD – 162A to a ATMega8 Arduino board.

The hardware required are:

  • ATMega8 Arduino Board
  • JHD – 162A 2-line display
  • 2K POT or Trimmer
  • Jumper Wires and normal wires
  • Soldering Kit
  • BreadBoard

I did this display part for my project purpose . Since I am an MCA student , I had only little experience in dealing with Electronics. But , To be different I chose Electronics field and started involving myself in the project “Tran – Duino” .

Initially I gave the 2-line LCD display to an electrician and soldered the display with wires. when I tried connecting it with arduino it dint show up. That time i dint use a 2K POT. I used a 10K variable POT since 2K POT was not available in my place.

I followed a circuit like the one below

But I got only the backlight of the LCD glowing and no blocks being displayed.Then I searched for a new schematic without any IC being used in it.

My guide searched and got a link.Basically that project was a “TEMPERATURE SENSOR USING ARDUINO”. I downloaded the pdf from that site.

Now I built the circuit according to the pin diagram by resoldering the LCD display by myself. Now it was working and saw the black blocks on the display.

The pins were


I tried the basic LCD display programs from “LiquidCrystal” Library in Arduino-0017 IDE. It worked and i was really happy

The next day I took this display and went to my college to show the demo. But it my badluck the display dint turnup.

Later on, I identified that the POT was the problem and due to high volt supply from it, the IC in the display unit got burnt-off.

I purchased a new JHD 162A display and a 2K POT from the market. Now I planned well and soldered the LCD display with wires properly and built the circuit.

The circuit is as follows

JHD162A 2-Line LCD Display with Arduino

After building this circuit , I tested the display with “LiquidCrystal” Library Sample programs and it worked successfully. It was a great experience for me to work with Arduino.

I took pictures of the Display circuit using my Nokia mobile and also prepared few videos of it . I finished the first part in my project Tran-Duino for now. I have started working with interfacing SD card with Arduino.

A few pics from my gallery of LCD display circuit

JHD 162A display

Circuit after giving power

My department name Scrolling in the display

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Steve Spence / Aug 26 2010 5:50 am

    This wiring diagram shuts down my arduino. Power light goes out as soon as +5 is connected to LCD. Need guidance.

    • Nandha kumar / Aug 26 2010 12:25 pm

      Hi Steve,

      I really dont know where the problem is. If possible can you please give me more details on the procedure or steps you followed in the circuit building and code uplading process.

      If I get those information surely I can find and verify the problem.

      Major possibility will be the 3K POT would have worn out. If possible Please check that connection.

      And Sorry for the inconvenience caused by following the circuit

      Regards
      N.Nandhakumar

      • sameer thapa / Mar 16 2012 3:58 pm

        i want to install a programme on ic of lcd khd162a hw cn i , help me…..

  2. aamir / Sep 18 2010 11:55 am

    hi..nice work..can u give me details of programming in embedded c. i am interfacing lcd with at89c51(in keil c)

  3. sameer thapa / Mar 16 2012 4:03 pm

    is it neccesary to use potentiometre

    • Nandha kumar / Mar 27 2012 2:44 pm

      Hi,

      Potientiometer is required to control the contrast of the blocks that will be displayed in the LCD Display.

      Thanks,
      Nandha

  4. Katende Allan / Mar 21 2012 2:27 pm

    I need some help,i have just bought a JHD162A LCD,and have tried interfacing it with arduino but all in vain,tried every possible thing but cant get it to display anything,I connected it exactly like this and ran the hello world code,but am just getting the backlights lighting,no display,i have tried grounding pin 5 of the LCD,still nothing,please help me get out of this state of quagmire,i have been doing the same circuit since yeaterday,at first i thought i had made a mistake in the connection,then i re-did everything but the same.I even thought i bought a faulty LCD,then went back and bought a new one but all the same.

  5. Katende Allan / Mar 21 2012 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

